Welcome To Glamorgan County RFC

 Homepage County Officials County Fixtures Silver Ball Competition Silver Ball Final Photo's Main Sponsors History & Past Winner Sponsors Links Contacts Blog My Photos



Sat 22nd Augs 2015



Despite most clubs in the Glamorgan area playing friendlies in preparation for the new season Howard Jones Match Secretary still did an outstanding job to gather a fairly strong squad to play and celebrate Byncethin’s 125th anniversary on Saturday last. Sixteen players made their debut and Glamorgan County are indebted to Bridgend Ath., Llantwit Major, Tonyrefail, Maesteg, Maesteg Harlequins, Blaengarw, Nantyffyllon, Gilfach Goch, Heol-y-Cyw,Pontycymmer, Aberavon and Wattstown for releasing their players.   A sunny and very warm afternoon greeted both sides and a very strong village support. Bryncethin who are going to play this season in Division 3 West Central A were very much up for the game and were very well coached by former Maesteg Centre Paul Watkin and David Thomas and their defence was first class. Bryncethin has a proud history and many outstanding players have played for the club and have gone on to top clubs and have played for the full Wales National XV. Glamorgan were powerful in the scrums and drove the Bryncethin eight back many a yard and also won plenty of the ball at line out.   Both sides attempted to play fast flowing rugby but were cancelling one another out with strong defence and many bad decisions went against the County. The County went into half time leading by 12pts to 10pts. It was much the same for the second half, but for most of this half Bryncethin elected for passive scrums, taking away the County’s strength and superiority to level matters up, one wonders was this a clever ploy? The County scored four tries through wing Josh Austin (Llantwit Major) Blindside flanker Stuart Nation (Heol-y-Cyw) Open side flanker Andrew Harris (Pontycymmer) and replacement Ryan Lovett (Maesteg Harlequins) with one conversion scored by outside half Lloyd Bradley (Maesteg Harlequins). Outstanding for the County were full back Lyndsay Macausland (Bridgend Ath.) scrum half and Captain Lee Ronan (Maesteg Harlequins) second row Scott Purnell (Gilfach Goch) and the back row of Stuart Nation (Heol-y-Cyw) Andrew Harris (Pontycymmer) and Jacob Blackmore (Aberavon). Bryncethin scored two tries through wing Ryan James, Blindside flanker Lloyd P John and outside half Paul Short slotted over two conversions and two penalty goals. Outstanding for Bryncethin were full back Evan P John, Centre Lloyd Hosey, Outside half Paul Short, Second row and Captain Gareth Brooking and Blindside flanker Lloyd P John. In the after match function the Glamorgan President Mr Howard Jones presented the Bryncethin Chairman Mr John Davies with an engraved crystal bowl, John then presented to Howard a glass souvenir. Howard presented (Bridgend Ath.) full back Lyndsay Macausland with his County cap and to centre Geraint Shalton (Tonyrefail) and scrum half and Captain Lee Ronan (Maesteg Harlequins) their players County ties. Local man and referee Mark Jones who ran the line for the County was also presented with a County tie. Mark then presented Howard with a Rugby Union Welsh Society’s of Referees tie (Ospreys Division) for his long service and outstanding work for the County. Chris Morgan the new WRU member for District D announced the Glamorgan Committee’s man of the match for Bryncethin as Blindside flanker Lloyd P John.  

Many thanks,

Malcolm K Thomas – Publicity Officer – Glamorgan County RFC


Visitor 764326



The views on this website do no necessarily reflect the views of Glamorgan County RFC or the Webmaster

and can in no way be held liable for the contents of this site.

all photos and logos are the copyright of glamorgan county and there owners  COPYRIGHT 2005-2015